Research Group

Principal Investigator

Bartosz Protas Bartosz Protas

Office: HH/326   Ext. 24116

Postdoctoral Fellows

Jose Morales Escalante Dr. Jose Morales Escalante
Office: HH/327   Ext. 23413
Di Kang Dr. Di Kang
Office: HH/327   Ext. 23413

Graduate Students

Athinthra Krishnaswamy Sethurajan Athinthra Krishnaswamy Sethurajan (Ph.D. Candidate, M.Sc. thesis 2014)
Office: HH/403   Ext. 24411
Pritpal Matharu Pritpal Matharu (Ph.D. Candidate, M.Sc. thesis 2018)
Office: HH/403   Ext. 24411
Avesta Ahmadi Avesta Ahmadi (M.Sc. Candidate)
Office: HH/105   Ext. 24336
Mark Baczkowski Mark Baczkowski (M.Sc. Candidate, co-supervised with Dr. Il Yong Kim from Queen's University)
Office: HH/401   Ext. 27357
Alec Mitchell Alec Mitchell (M.Sc. Candidate)
Office: HH/105   Ext. 24336
Elkin Ramírez Elkin Ramirez (M.Sc. Candidate)
Office: HH/105   Ext. 24336

Undergraduate Students

None at the moment

Summer Students

None at the moment

Long-Term Visitors

None at the moment


  • Dr. Dongfang Yun - post-doc (2016-2018); now lecturer at the Nanjing University of Science and Technology, Nanjing, China
  • Dr. William Ko - post-doc (2017-2018); now with Pacad Investment Ltd., Vancouver, BC
  • Dr. Francesc Font - post-doc (2016-2017); now post-doc at the Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain
  • Dr. Jamie Foster - post-doc (2014-2016); now Lecturer at University of Portsmouth, UK
  • Dr. Adam Gully - post-doc (2012-2014); now with Progressive Finance, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Dr. Nauman Raza - visiting post-doctoral fellow from the Lahore University of Management Sciences, Pakistan, (2013-2014)
  • Dr. Seshasai Srinivasan - post-doc (2012-2013); now Assistant Professor with BTech Program, McMaster University
  • Dr. Dali Zhang - post-doc (2011-2012);
  • Prof. Agegnehu Atena - post-doc (2010-2011); now Assistant Professor at the Savannah State University, Savannah, GA (USA)
  • Dr. Ramesh Yapalparvi - post-doc (2009-2011); now Post-Doctoral Fellow at INRIA Bordeaux, France
  • Dr. Oleg Volkov - post-doc (2007-2009); now Senior Research Associate at Stanford University, USA
  • Prof. Wenyuan Liao - post-doc (2005-2007); now Associate Professor at the University of Calgary, Canada
  • Dr. Diego Ayala - M.Sc. student (2008-2010, thesis available here), Ph.D. student (2010-2014; thesis available here; recipient of the 2014 Cecil Graham Dissertation Award of the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society); now Post-Doctoral Fellow at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA
  • Dr. Jonathan Gustafsson - M.Sc. student (2006-2007), Ph.D. student (2007-2012; thesis available here); now Post-Doctoral Fellow at the Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, CA, USA
  • Prof. Vladislav Bukshtynov - Ph.D. student (2008-2012; thesis available here; recipient of the 2012 Cecil Graham Dissertation Award of the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society); now Assistant Professor at Florida Institute of Technology, USA
  • Adam Sliwiak - M.Sc. thesis (2017), now graduate student at MIT, Boston, MA
  • James Arias - M.Sc. project (2015)
  • Sergei Melkoumian - M.Sc. thesis (2014)
  • Katya Niakhai - M.Sc. thesis (2013)
  • Xiaohui Peng - M.Sc. thesis (2011); now graduate student at the University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Md. Shah Noor - M.Sc. thesis (2005); now Lecturer at Dhaka University, Bangladesh
  • Kyle Macdonald - 4th Year Thesis (2017); now graduate student at UBC, Vancouver, BC
  • Jesse Provost - 4th Year Thesis (Integrated Science Program, 2017); now graduate student at ETH, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Arnaldo Nascimento - visiting student (2009); now Ph.D. candidate at Departamento de Matematica Aplicada, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Alex Kerzner - USRA summer student (2017); now 4th year student at McMaster
  • Marcel Rodney - USRA summer student (2010); now graduate student at McGill (Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences)
  • Frederic Chantalat - visiting student (summer 2004); Ph.D. Université Bordeaux 1 (2009), now research engineer at SAFRAN